8 ministers involved in crisis-stricken Sri Lanka, no finance minister yet

8 ministers involved in crisis-stricken Sri Lanka, no finance minister yet

Sri Lanka is facing its worst economic crisis since independence. (File)


Sri Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on Monday expanded his cabinet to include eight more ministers, but did not appoint a finance minister to run the country’s economic affairs.

Among the new ministers sworn in are Fisheries Minister Douglas Debananda, Transport and Highways and Media Minister Bandula Gunavardhan, Health and Water Supply Minister Kehelia Rambukvela, Industries Minister Ramesh Pathirana and Minister Mahinda Amabira. Agriculture, Wildlife and Wildlife Conservation, Economy Next News Portal tweeted.

The other ministers are Bidur Vikramanayak, Minister for Buddhism, Religion and Culture, Nasir Ahmed, Minister for Environment and Roshan Ranasinghe, Minister for Irrigation, Sports and Youth.

President Rajapaksa on Friday expanded his cabinet to include nine more ministers in an effort to ensure stability in the debt-ridden island nation, which has been mired in the worst economic crisis since independence, until a full cabinet is formed.

The ministers were sworn in more than a week after the President appointed new Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. Rajapaksa re-appointed five-time former Sri Lankan Prime Minister Bikram Singh after his predecessor, Mahinda Rajapaksa, the president’s brother, resigned following violent attacks by his supporters on peaceful anti-government protesters.

His resignation automatically dissolved the cabinet, leaving an administrative vacuum.

(Except for the title, this story was not edited by NDTV staff and was published from a syndicated feed.)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.